TEEN PRESSURE ;HOW INFORMED ARE YOU?

Credit:Google Images

I have been privileged to work with teenage girls, and gratefully so. It has exposed me to a lot that goes on with our young people.  Most disturbing among my many discoveries are that most girls are truly unhappy, do not feel beautiful, are confused about who they are. Most of these stem from the situations at home. It bothers me so because I know that the rest of the choices they make stem from these suppositions. The many other girls who claim to have got it all together do not make it any easy for them.

I was once saying to a mother, that I think before we beat our girls up for not doing well in their exams and not doing well in this or that, we should carefully look inside them and find out what has really gone wrong. It might just be them trying to find their feet through the pressures of fitting in.

We do agree that teen challenges are not just peculiar to those of this present times. But the issue still remains that even though many of us have been victims of teen pressure, we can’t seem to understand their challenge.  Times we even try to, we appear too helpless to help them.

I do think the basic reason is that most of the mothers do not pay attention to our girls. We tend to hush them or innocently avoid talking  about stuff with them (lest we expose them to what they do not yet know). But we do know that our girls are growing faster than we did,

(I Know I might not be that old, but I speak for every woman)

Then, they go on in search of love and a listening ear, to find solace in the hands of the supposed friends whose advice not only misleads them, but also imprisons them in the shell of trying to impress the lot.

Stella Damasus did quite a great justice to this topic, so I think I’d refer you to click here for her post to learn more.  Do well to leave your comments here on how to help our teenage girls. Some one might just need to read and learn.

Keep Winning!!!

Your opinion please